IUFRO Awards

no news in this list.

Non-IUFRO Awards


Call for Nominations - Equator Prize 2021

The Equator Initiative is a United Nations-led partnership that brings together governments, civil society, grassroots organizations, and businesses to foster resilient communities by recognizing and advancing local nature-based solutions for sustainable development. The Equator Initiative creates opportunities and platforms to share knowledge and good practices, develops capacities of local communities and Indigenous peoples, informs policy through convening multi-stakeholder dialogues, and fosters enabling environments to replicate and scale up community action. The Equator Prize 2021 will be awarded to outstanding local community and Indigenous peoples initiatives that advance innovative nature-based solutions for sustainable development. The winners will join a prestigious network of 255 leading community-based organizations from 83 countries that have been awarded the Equator Prize since 2002. Each Equator Prize winner will receive USD 10,000 and will be supported to participate in a series of policy dialogues and special events in the fall of 2021.

Equator Prize 2021 theme: Solving our Planetary Crisis.

Submit nominations by: 10 May 2021

Details at:,


Nature Research Awards for Driving Global Impact // 21 March 2021

Science is critical in solving global challenges. In 2021 Springer Nature invites applications from early career researchers working in these areas:

  • Food security, water security and/or energy security – ensuring a long term, sustainable supply of either food, water or energy.
  • Healthcare interventions – the assessment, improvement or promotion of human health.
  • Environmental protection – protection of the natural environment on land and water including the repair of damage.
  • Climate change – slowing climate change and adapting to what’s unavoidable.
  • Sustainable cities – building green, liveable cities that last.

Organization: Nature Portfolio
Submit nomination by: 21 March 2021



Premi Ramon Margalef d’Ecologia // 28 May 2021

The aim of the Premi Ramon Margalef d’Ecologia is to recognize an exceptional scientific career or discovery in the field of ecological science that has contributed to significant progress in scientific knowledge or thought, or to the development of theoretical instruments for the good management of natural resources on land or in the sea. The Prize may be awarded either to individuals or to legal persons or groups from all over the world that have made significant contributions to the development of the ecological sciences. Candidatures must be submitted by university institutions, superior schools, research centers or scientific academies or have science divisions and other institutions of similar purpose, by persons who have been awarded the Prize or by persons who have been members of the Jury.

Organization: Government of Catalonia
Submit nomination by: 28 May 2021



Marcus Wallenberg Prize 2021 // 31 May 2021

Individuals and institutions are invited to nominate candidates for the Marcus Wallenberg Prize between 1 March and 31 May 2021. The Prize is awarded for scientific achievements of importance to forestry and forest industries. The aim of the Prize is to recognize, encourage and stimulate path-breaking scientific achievements which contribute significantly to broader knowledge and/or technical development within all subjects relevant to the forest based sector all over the world. The achievements may be of widely different characters – from forest ecosystem, conservation and management through process, product and service developments contributing to the sustainable development of society.

Organization: Marcus Wallenberg Foundation
Submit nomination by: 31 May 2021

Make nomination at: