Who is Who

IUFRO Structure and Officeholders

The latest update on IUFRO Structure and Officeholders is now available!

Download the document - Status: March 2024

This issue gives you the latest update on the IUFRO structure and includes the contact details of all IUFRO officeholders.

As this information is subject to changes we will update this electronic version regularly for you.

If you experience difficulties in downloading the document or have any updates for us, please contact the IUFRO Secretariat at office(at)iufro.org.

Senior Officeholders

  • President: John Parrotta, USA  -  Biosketch
  • Vice-President responsible for Divisions: Daniela Kleinschmit, Germany - Biosketch
  • Vice-President responsible for Task Forces, Special Programmes, Projects and IUFRO-led Initiatives: Shirong Liu, China - Biosketch
  • Immediate Past President: Mike W. Wingfield, South Africa  -  Biosketch
  • Executive Director: Alexander Buck, Austria  -  Biosketch

Division Coordinators

  • Division 1: Jens Peter Skovsgaard, Sweden
  • Division 2: Santiago C. González-Martínez, France
  • Division 3: Woodam Chung, United States
  • Division 4: Donald Hodges, United States
  • Division 5: Pekka Saranpää, Finland
  • Division 6: Purabi Bose, Sweden
  • Division 7: Tod Ramsfield, Canada
  • Division 8: Sandra Luque, France
  • Division 9: Mónica Gabay, Argentina

President's Nominees

  • Erich Gomes Schaitza, Brazil
  • Hubert Hasenauer, Austria
  • Elena Paoletti, Italy
  • Olga Shaytarova, Russian Federation
  • Kugbo Shim, Republic of Korea
  • Wubalem Tadesse Wondifra, Ethiopia
  • Xiao Wenfa, China

Task Force Coordinators

  • Joint IUFRO-IFSA Task Force on Forest Education - Sandra Rodríguez-Pineros, Mexico, and Khalil Walji, Germany
  • Monitoring Global Tree Mortality Patterns and Trends - Henrik Hartmann, Germany
  • Gender Equality in Forestry - Gun Lidestav, Sweden
  • Strengthening Mediterranean Nursery Systems for Forest Reproductive Material Procurement to Adapt to the Effects of Climate Change - Giovanbattista de Dato, Italy
  • Unlocking the Bioeconmy and Non-Timber Forest Products - James Chamberlain, United States
  • Resilient Planted Forests Serving Society & Bioeconomy - Christophe Orazio, France
  • Forests and Water Interactions in a Changing Environment - Xiaohua (Adam) Wei, Canada
  • Transforming Forest Landscapes for Futures Climates and Human Well-Being - Andreas Bolte, Germany
  • Precision Pest Management (PPM) in Forest Ecosystems - Jeremy Allison, Canada

Special Programmes and Projects Coordinators

  • Special Programme for Development of Capacities: Michael Kleine, Austria
  • Special Project on World Forests, Society and Environment: Pia Katila, Finland
  • Directors' Forum: Peter Mayer, Austria
  • Science-Policy Programme: Christoph Wildburger, Austria