Calendar of Meetings 2004

From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-29

2004-12-01

1.15.02 International Workshop on Small-holder Timber Production NAIROBI,
Contact: Stella Musaya, Email: s.muasya@cgiar.org, Tel: +254 20 524229
From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-28

2004-12-02

2.08.04

Working Party Meeting of Poplars and Willows SANTIAGO,
Contact: Dr. Brian Stanton, Email: bstanton@greenwoodresources.com, Fax: +1-503-4780751
From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-24

2004-11-26

5.04.12 Surfacing and Finishing of Wood KYOTO,
Contact: Makoto Kiguchi, Email: surface2004@ffpri.affrc.go.jp
Contact: Yuji Imamura, Email: surface2004@ffpri.affrc.go.jp
From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-22

2004-11-25

4.00.00

1.00.00

2.00.00

Multipurpose trees in the Tropics: Assessment, Growth and Management JODHPUR,
Contact: Dr. V.P. Tewari, Email: vptewari@afri.res.in, Fax: +91-291-2722764, Tel: +91-291-2722588
From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-17

2004-11-19

4.01.08 Impacts of the Drought and Heat in 2003 on Forests FREIBURG I. BR.,
Contact: Heinrich Spiecker, Email: instww@uni-freiburg.de, Fax: +49-761-2033740, Tel: +49-761-2033737, URL: http://www.forst.uni-freiburg.de/Waldwachstum/
From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-15

2004-11-17

6.13.01 La Contribución del Derecho al Manejo y Desarrollo Forestal (Congreso Chileno 2004 de Derecho Forestal-Ambiental CONCEPCIÓN,
Contact: Enrique Gallardo, Email: egallard@conaf.cl, Fax: +56-2-6954788, Tel: +56-2-3900335, URL: http://www.conaf.gov.cl
From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-08

2004-11-11

1.09.01 Biomass and Bioenergy Production for Economic and Environmental Benefits CHARLESTON,
Contact: Mark D. Coleman, Email: mcoleman@ifx.net mcoleman01@fs.fed.us, Fax: +1-803-7250311, Tel: +1-803-7250513
Contact: Theo Verwijst, Email: theo.verwijst@lto.slu.se, Fax: +46-18-673440, Tel: +46-18-672550
From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-02

2004-11-05

8.04.008.04.06 Disaster Management Galtür, Afghanistan
Contact: Gernot Fiebiger, Email: consultant(at)fiebiger.eu
Contact: Michaela Leitgeb, Email: michaela.leitgeb@wlv.bmlf.gv.at, Fax: +43-6474-225617
From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-01

2004-11-05

8.00.00

Monitoring the Effectiveness of Biological Conservation VANCOUVER,
Contact: John Innes, Email: innes@interchg.ubc.ca, Fax: +1-604-8229106, Tel: +1-604-8226761
From/To Units Title Location

2004-11-01

2004-11-05

2.02.00

2.02.20

2.04.02

2.02.05

Forest Genetics and Tree Breeding in the Age of Genomics - Progress and Future CHARLESTON,
Contact: Dr. Bailian Li, Email: bailian_li@ncsu.edu, Fax: +1-919-5153169, Tel: +1-919-5156845
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-28

6.01.04 Future Forest and High-Tech Trees KOEBENHAVN,
Contact: Frank S. Jensen, Email: fsj@kvl.dk, Fax: +45-45763233, Tel: +45-45763200, URL: http://www.kvl.dk/
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-25

2004-10-28

8.01.03

Conservation and Management of Fragmented Forest Landscapes TSUKUBA,
Contact: Management Division, Forestry and Forest Products Research Institute, Email: landscape@ffpri.affrc.go.jp, Fax: +81-29-8733799, Tel: +81-29-8733211 ext. 634
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-17

2004-10-22

4.00.00

The Role of Forests for Coming Generations - Philosophy and Technology in Forest Resource Management (FORCOM2004) UTSUNOMIYA,
Contact: Kenji Naito, Email: naito@cc.utsunomiya-u.ac.jp, Fax: +81-28-6495545, Tel: +81-28-6495533
Contact: Naoto Matsumura, Email: nma@bio.mie-u.ac.jp, Fax: +81-592-319517, Tel: +81-592-319507
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-17

2004-10-22

1.00.00

3.00.00

Towards Better Management Practices in Tropical Humid Forests: Developing Principles and Recommendations for the Amazon Basin BELEM,
Contact: Plinio Sist, Email: plinio@cpatu.embrapa.br, Fax: +55-91-2767939, Tel: +55-91-2994593
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-13

2004-10-15

6.13.01 Andean Workshop on Forest and Environmental Law QUITO,
Contact: Carla Ximena Cardenas, Email: carlaximenac@yahoo.com, ccardenas@ambiente.gov.ec, Tel: +593-2-231410, 2333680
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-13

IU Preparatory Workshop: Strenghtening the Science-Policy Interface Reviewing Needs for and Potentials of Policy Relevant Research in Europe WARSZAWA,
Contact: Brita Pajari, Email: brita.pajari@efi.fi, Fax: +358-13-124393, Tel: +358-13-252020, URL: http://www.efi.fi
Contact: Prof. Piotr Paschalis-Jakubowicz, Email: paschalis@delta.sggw.waw.pl, Fax: +48-22-8491375, Tel: +48-22-8491179
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-12

IU Forest Research and Education for the 21th Century SEOUL,
Contact: --
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-11

2004-10-15

2.08.03

Eucalyptus in a Changing World AVEIRO,
Contact: Conference Secretariat, Email: conference@aveiroiufro.com, Fax: +351-234-931359, Tel: +351-234-920133
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-05

2004-10-10

3.00.00

3.04.00

3.06.00

3.11.00
Forest Engineering: New Techniques, Technologies and the Environment LVIV,
Contact: Oleg Styranivsky, Email: styran@forest.lviv.ua, Fax: +380-322-378905
From/To Units Title Location

2004-10-03

2004-10-06

4.00.00

Laser-Scanners for Forest and Landscape Assessment - Instruments, Processing Methods and Applications FREIBURG I. BR.,
Contact: University of Freiburg, Institute for Forest Growth, Email: info@natscan.de, Fax: +49-761-2033740, Tel: +49-761-2033737
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-28

2004-09-30

5.12.00

Forestry Woodchain EDINBURGH,
Contact: Dr. Barry Gardiner, Email: Barry.Gardiner@forestry.gis.gov.uk, Fax: +44-131-4455124, Tel: +44-131-4452176
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-27

2004-10-01

6.06.03 Communication Strategies for Multiple Partner Involvement in Forestry Extension ORVIETO, UMBRIA,
Contact: Roland Beck, Email: beck@forst.uni-muenchen.de, Fax: +49-8161-714623, Tel: +49-8161-714621
Contact: Jurij Begus, Email: jurij.begus@zgs.gov.si, Fax: +386-61-1235461, Tel: +386-61-1231343
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-27

2004-10-01

SPDC Training Course on Forest Policy: International Forest-Related Initiatives and Agreements and Their Implementation in the Context of National Forest Programmes JAKARTA,
Contact: IUFRO-SPDC, Email: schimpf@iufro.org, Fax: +43-1-8770151-50
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-27

2004-09-30

4.04.06

The Economics and Management of High Productivity Plantations LUGO,
Contact: Juan Gabriel Alvarez, Email: algonjg@lugo.usc.es, Tel: +34-982-252303
Contact: Chris Goulding, Email: goulding@forestresearch.co.nz, Fax: +64-7-3435332, Tel: +64-7-3435641
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-26

2004-10-01

2.02.07

International Symposium Larix 2004 KYOTO and NAGANO,
Contact: Katsuhiko Takata, Email: katsu@iwt.akita-pu.ac.jp, Fax: +81-185-526924, Tel: +81-185-526984
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-20

2004-09-23

8.04.008.04.06 Disasters Originated by and in Forested Areas BORDEAUX, Afghanistan
Contact: Gernot Fiebiger, Email: consultant(at)fiebiger.eu
Contact: Michaela Leitgeb, Email: michaela.leitgeb@wlv.bmlf.gv.at, Fax: +43-6474-225617
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-20

2004-09-23

  International Scientific Conference: Climate Change: Natural Ecosystems and Landscape ZVOLEN,
Contact: Dr. Julius Novotny, Email: novotny@fris.sk, Fax: +421-45-5321883, Tel: +421-45-5314171
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-15

2004-09-18

8.00.00

Forest Soils under Global and Local Changes: From Research to Practice BORDEAUX,
Contact: , Email: secretariat@iefc.net, Fax: +33-5-56680223, Tel: +33-5-57122803
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-13

2004-09-17

8.04.00 An International Conference on Eco-Engineering: The Use of Vegetation to Improve Slope Stability THESSALONIKI,
Contact: Sanna Dupuy, Email: ecoconf@lrbb3.pierroton.inra.fr, Fax: +33-5-56680713, Tel: +33-5-57979117
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-13

2004-09-17

2.04.10

2.04.01

Population, Evolutionary and Ecological Genomics of Forest Trees PACIFIC GROVE, CALIFORNIA,
Contact: David Neale, Email: dbneale@ucdavis.edu, Fax: +1-530-7549366, Tel: +1-530-7548431, URL: http://dendrome.ucdavis.edu/ifg/
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-12

2004-09-16

1.05.141.05.081.05.00

1.14.00
Regenerating Mountain Forests - REM 2004 KLOSTER SEEON, BAVARIA,
Contact: Edith Lubitz; Anja Dost, Email: rmf2004@wbfe.forst.tu-muenchen.de
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-12

2004-09-16

7.03.10

Biotic Damage in Forests MATRAFURED,
Contact: Gyorgy Csoka, Email: gycsoka@mail.datanet.hu, Fax: +36-37-520047, Tel: +36-37-320129
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-11

2004-09-18

7.02.09

3rd International Meeting: Phytophthora in Forests and Natural Ecosystems FREISING,
Contact: Dr. Clive M. Brasier, Email: clive.brasier@forestry.gis.gov.uk, Fax: +44-1420-23653, Tel: +44-1420-22255
From/To Units Title Location

2004-09-04

2004-09-07

1.17.024.04.09 Transformation to Continuous Cover Forestry in a Changing Environment - Consequences, Methods, Scenarios, Analyses BANGOR,
Contact: Arne Pommerening, Email: safs@bangor.ac.uk,Arne.Pommerening@bangor.ac.uk, Fax: +44-1248-354997, Tel: +44-1248-351151, URL: http://www.bangor.ac.uk/safs/
Contact: Douglas L. Godbold, Email: safs@bangor.ac.uk,d.l.godbold@bangor.ac.uk, Fax: +44-1248-354997, Tel: +44-1248-351151
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-25

2004-08-30

7.04.007.04.017.04.05 Forests Under Changing Climate, Enhanced UV and Air Pollution OULU,
Contact: Prof. Satu Huttunen, Email: satu.huttunen@oulu.fi, Fax: +358-81-5531061, Tel: +358-81-5531527
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-25

2004-08-27

4.04.10 Sustainable Harvest Scenarios in Forest Management T,
Contact: Dr. Robert Marusák, Email: marusak@vsld.tuzvo.sk, Fax: +421-45-5332654, Tel: +421-45-5206313, URL: http://www.tuzvo.sk
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-24

2004-08-26

1.00.00

2.00.00

Congresso Internacional do Pinus JOINVILLE, SANTA CATARINA,
Contact: Vitor Afonso Hoeflich, Email: pinus@cnpf.embrapa.br vitor@cnpf.embrapa.br, Fax: +55-41-6661276, Tel: +55-41-6661313, URL: http://www.embrapa.br
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-23

2004-08-29

6.01.00

Interim Meeting 2004 HOKKAIDO,
Contact: Taiichi Ito, Email: taiichi@sakura.cc.tsukuba.ac.jp, Fax: +81-298-552203, Tel: +81-298-534576
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-16

2004-08-22

7.02.01

11th International Conference on Root and Butt Rots: Root and Butt Rots of Forest Trees POZNAN - BIALOWIEZA,
Contact: Malgorzata Manka, Email: mmanka@owl.au.poznan.pl, Fax: +48-61-8487711, Tel: +48-61-8487708
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-16

2004-08-20

5.00.00

International Symposium: Wood Science - Education and Research Programmes STARA LESNA,
Contact: Jozef Kúdela, Email: kudela@vsld.tuzvo.sk, Fax: +421-45-5321811, Tel: +421-45-5206346
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-16

2004-08-20

4.00.00

6.00.00

Sustainable Forest Use and Management (POSTPONED) PUSHKINO, MOSCOW,
Contact: Victor K. Teplyakov Ph.D., Email: victor.teplyakov@iucn.ru, Fax: +7-095-4905818, Tel: +7-095-1904655
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-15

2004-08-20

4.00.00

1.00.00

Balancing Ecosystem Values: Innovative Experiments for Sustainable Forestry PORTLAND,
Contact: , Email: forestry.outreach.education@oregonstate.edu
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-10

2004-08-13

7.03.07

7.03.05

7.03.03

Forest diversity and resistance to native and exotic pest insects HAMMER SPRINGS,
Contact: Dr. Andrew Liebhold, Email: aliebhold@fs.fed.us,sandy@mserv.fsl.wvnet.edu, Fax: +1-304-2851505, Tel: +1-304-2851512
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-08

2004-08-10

3.05.00

XIII Seminario de Actualaización sobre Sistemas de Cosecha de Madera y transporte Forestal CURITIBA,
Contact: Prof. Jorge Roberto Malinovski, Email: jrmalino@floresta.ufpr.br
From/To Units Title Location

2004-08-01

2004-08-10

6.18.00 Gender and Forestry: Challenges to Sustainable Livelihoods and Forestry Management KILIMANJARO,
Contact: Dr. Ann Merete Furuberg Gjedtjernet, Email: merete.furuberg@hedmark-f.kommune.no, Fax: +47-62945753, Tel: +47-90163092
From/To Units Title Location

2004-07-21

2004-07-23

7.03.09

7.03.11

Pests Management in the Tropics: Concepts and Application of Silviculture and Genetic Resistance KUMASI,
Contact: Dr. Joseph R. Cobbinah, Email: jcobbinah@forig.org, Fax: +233-51-60121, Tel: +233-51-60122
Contact: Dr. Mike Wagner, Email: Mike.Wagner@nau.edu, Fax: +1-520-5231080, Tel: +1-520-5236646
From/To Units Title Location

2004-07-10

2004-07-12

8.03.00

Forests and Water in Warm, Humid Asia KOTA KINABALU,
Contact: Roy C. Sidle, Email: sidle@slope.dpri.kyoto-u.ac.jp, Fax: +81-774-384300
Contact: Makoto Tani, Email: tani@kais.kyoto-u.ac.jp, Fax: +81-75-7536088
From/To Units Title Location

2004-07-01

2004-07-02

6.13.01 Primer Encuentro Nacional de Derecho Forestal-Ambiental en el Marco de la II Expo Forestal GUADALAJARA,
Contact: Fernando Montes de Oca Dominguez, Email: fernandomontesdeoca@imdefac.com.mx, Tel: +52-33-36150473
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-28

2004-06-30

T8

Task Force "Science/Policy Interface" Meeting BIRMENSDORF,
Contact: John Parrotta, Email: jparrotta@fs.fed.us, Fax: +1-703-6055131
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-27

2004-07-03

6.12.00 The Evaluation of Forest Policies and Programmes EPINAL,
Contact: Brita Pajari, Email: brita.pajari@efi.fi, Fax: +358-13-124393, Tel: +358-13-252020, URL: http://www.efi.fi
Contact: Gérard Buttoud, Email: buttoud@engref.fr
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-26

7.01.04 Forest Genetics and Climate Change KELOWNA,
Contact: Alvin Yanchuk, Email: alvin.yanchuk@gems4.gov.bc.ca, Fax: +1-250-3870046, Tel: +1-250-3873338
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-23

2004-06-26

4.04.07

SilvaPlan Working Party Meeting DUBLIN,
Contact: Dr. Maarten Nieuwenhuis, Email: maarten.nieuwenhuis@ucd.ie, Fax: +353-1-7067004, Tel: +353-1-7067756, URL: http://www.ucd.ie
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-16

2004-06-20

6.13.00 6th International Symposium on Legal Aspects on European Forest Sustainable Development BRASOV,
Contact: Peter Herbst, Email: hp(at)net4you.co.at
Contact: Ioan Abrudan, Email: abrudan@unitbv.ro, Fax: +40-268-476808
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-14

2004-06-18

1.00.00

IUFRO Division 1 Conference: Meeting the Challenge: Silvicultural Research in a Changing World" MONTPELLIER,
Contact: John Parrotta, Email: jparrotta@fs.fed.us, Fax: +1-703-6055131, Tel: +1-703-6054178
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-13

2004-06-20

7.02.02

Meeting of IUFRO Working Party 7.02.02 CORVALLIS,
Contact: Glen R. Stanosz, Email: Grs@plantpath.wisc.edu
Contact: Greg Filip, Email: Greg.Filip@orst.edu
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-13

2004-06-16

3.06.00

Improving the Bottom Line VANCOUVER,
Contact: Marv Clark, Email: marv-c@vcr.feric.ca, Fax: +1-604-2280999, Tel: +1-604-2281555
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-07

2004-06-11

4.11.00 4th International Workshop on Functional-Structural Plant Models MONTPELLIER,
Contact: Daniel Auclair, Email: auclair@cirad.fr, Fax: +33-4-67615668, Tel: +33-4-67616562, URL: http://amap.cirad.fr
From/To Units Title Location

2004-06-04

2004-06-11

4.11.004.13.004.01.00

4.02.00

Applications of Statistics, Information Systems and Computers in Natural Resources Monitoring and Management TAIPEI,
Contact: Dr. Biing Guan, Email: btguan@research.ntu.edu.tw, Fax: +886-22-23639247, Tel: +886-22-23626942
From/To Units Title Location

2004-05-27

2004-05-28

4.04.08

Nature Conservation Planning TARTU,
Contact: Henn Korjus, Email: hkorjus@eau.ee, Fax: +372-7-313156, Tel: +372-7-313144
From/To Units Title Location

2004-05-25

2004-05-29

7.04.007.04.05 Restoration and Sustainable Management PRAHA,
Contact: Jiri Kulhavy, Email: kulhavy@mendelu.cz, Fax: +420-5-45134180, Tel: +420-5-45134179
From/To Units Title Location

2004-05-24

2004-05-27

6.14.00 Urban Woods: To Be Used by Everyone STOCKHOLM,
Contact: Cecil C. Konijnendijk, Email: cck@kvl.dk, Fax: +45-45763233, Tel: +45-45763200, URL: http://www.kvl.dk/
From/To Units Title Location

2004-05-20

2004-05-22

4.04.02

4.13.00
Economics of Sustainable Forest Management TORONTO,
Contact: Shashi Kant, Email: shashi.kant(at)utoronto.ca
Contact: Amalia Veneziano, Email: confer.esfm@utoronto.ca, Fax: +1-416-9783834, Tel: +1-416-9785480
From/To Units Title Location

2004-05-11

2004-05-16

1.10.00 IUFRO 7th Beech Symposium and Field Tour TEHRAN,
Contact: Khosro Sagheb-Talebi, Email: beechmeeting@rifr-ac.org, Fax: +98-21-4196575, Tel: +98-21-4196577
Contact: Shahbaz Yazdani, Email: yazdani@rif-ac.ir, Fax: +98-21-4196575, Tel: +98-21-4196574, URL: http://www.rifr-ac.ir
From/To Units Title Location

2004-05-10

2004-05-14

2.01.17 4th International Symposium on Adventitious Root Formation SAVANNAH, GEORGIA,
Contact: Barry Goldfarb, Email: barry_goldfarb@ncsu.edu
From/To Units Title Location

2004-05-03

2004-05-05

6.07.00

International Conference on Forest and Woodland History: Woodlands - cultural heritage Wien,
Contact: Dr. Elisabeth Johann, Email: elis.johann@carinthia.com, Fax: +43-1-4226216, Tel: +43-1-4226216
From/To Units Title Location

2004-04-21

2004-04-23

1.00.00

2.00.00

Third International Symposium on Sustainable Management of Forest Resources - SIMFOR 2004 PINAR DEL RIO,
Contact: C. Fernando Hernández Martínez, Email: fhernandez@af.upr.edu.cu, Fax: +53-82-779353, Tel: +53-82-779363
From/To Units Title Location

2004-04-19

2004-04-21

4.01.09 International Conference on Modelling Forest Production Wien,
Contact: Hubert Hasenauer, Email: hubert.hasenauer@boku.ac.at, Fax: +43-1-476544242, Tel: +43-1-476544205, URL: http://www.boku.ac.at
Contact: Annikki Mäkelä, Email: annikki.makela@helsinki.fi, Fax: +358-9-19158100, Tel: +358-9-191158108
From/To Units Title Location

2004-04-18

2004-04-22

5.03.04 5th International Wood and Fire Safety Conference THE HIGH TATRAS,
Contact: Robert White, Fax: +1-608-2319508 P-EMail: rhwhite@fs.fed.us, Tel: +1-608-2319265
From/To Units Title Location

2004-04-14

2004-04-16

2.08.06 Raulí, Wealth of Temperate Forest: Genetic Silviculture and Industry VALDIVIA,
Contact: María Paz Molina, Email: mmolina@infor.cl, Fax: +56-41-749090, Tel: +56-41-749090, URL: http://www.infor.cl
From/To Units Title Location

2004-04-12

2004-04-14

4.00.00

4.02.00

4.11.00

Management of Tropical Dry Forest Woodlands and Savannas - Assessment, Silviculture, Scenarios (POSTPONED UNTIL A LATER DATE) BRASILIA,
Contact: Prof. Dr. Jose Imana Encinas, Email: iufro@unb.br,imana@unb.br, Fax: +55-61-3470631, Tel: +55-61-2736026
From/To Units Title Location

2004-03-29

2004-04-01

3.08.00

Human Dimensions of Family and Farm Forestry PULLMAN,
Contact: David M. Baumgartner, Email: familyforestry@wsu.edu, Fax: +1-509-3352878, Tel: +1-509-3352964
From/To Units Title Location

2004-03-20

2004-03-27

4.01.03

Design and Evaluation of Experiments in Uneven-aged Forests and Mixed Stands ZERMATT, Afghanistan
Contact: Andreas Zingg, Email: andreas.zingg(at)wsl.ch
From/To Units Title Location

2004-02-09

2004-02-14

1.15.051.15.02 2nd International Symposium on Silvopastoral System and 3rd Congress on Agroforestry and Livestock Production in Latin America: The importance of silvopastoral system in rural livelihoods and to provide ecosystem services MERIDA, YUCATAN,
Contact: Fabiola Contreras-Cordero, Email: fcordero@tunku.uady.mx, Fax: +52-999-9423205, Tel: +52-999-9423200 ext. 32
From/To Units Title Location

2004-02-05

2004-02-08

T9

2nd Meeting: PR Professionals for Forest Science SEATTLE,
Contact: Daniela Krumland, Email: dkrumla@gwdg.de, Fax: +49-551-393415, Tel: +49-551-393418